Third Culture Kids: My Original Poem 3

Third Culture Kid (TCK)

I am a TCK.
I was diagnosed last semester,
by my Cross-Cultural Communications professor.
I did not know previously that
my condition had a formal name.
I am a TCK.
Born in Pakistan,
Raised in America.
I am a TCK.
When I travel to Pakistan,
I am the target of (sometimes) unwanted attention.
I am the foreigner,
an object to be observed,
questioned.
I am a TCK.
When I am in America,
I am viewed as symbol of diversity.
I am a minority,
another shade of brown,
fascinating.
I am a TCK.
I have an American accent,
but I don’t shy from speaking Urdu in public.
I am a TCK.
I can be confused.
How do I identify myself?
Often times, both the places I belong to
see me as a stranger.
I am a TCK.
I have to sometimes fight
to belong,
but its worth it.
I am a TCK.
Because I get the best of both worlds.
I feel lucky
to have experienced two different
cultures.
I am a TCK.
I wouldn’t trade either identities
for another.
I am a TCK.
I am an American-Pakistani.
I am proud.


 

© wanderingderwish.com 2013-2014
Click here for Copyright information. All photos shown were taken by me. All photos are the property of wanderingderwish.com.

Leave a Reply

