How Does It Feel to Be a Token?

My really good friend blogs about social justice issues and her very first post has me in awe. For anyone who is a minority in any way, in any part of the world — this is a must read!

Scars of Resilience

Image

Throughout the majority of my life, I have had the pleasure of being the “token” black girl in predominately white situations. I honestly did not find this unintentional title to be a problem until I entered high school, when I found the status to be much more problematic then anticipated. While reading W.E.B. DuBois work, Of Our Spiritual Strivings, I found myself fascinated with the concept of people indirectly asking “How does it feel to be a problem?” in regards to being African American. I found solace in this concept in regards the multiple roles I have played as the black best friend. Though no one has ever directly asked me what it is like to be a “token,” I have realized that the position of the “token” is regarded as a problem within our social standards. Now, I should mention that I have never, and somewhat still don’t, find…

View original post 482 more words

Leave a Reply

